The Youth Radio Network's CEO Presents a Saltire Awards

June 01, 2017

Volunteer Midlothian hosted an annual Volunteer Awards Ceremony, as part of Volunteers’ Week, on Thursday 1 June at Newbattle Abbey College. The Youth Radio Network's CEO Keiran Harvey was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to go along and present the Saltire Summit Awards! 

Over 40 nominations were received by Volunteer Midlothian across a variety of categories and 16 awards were presented on the night. The evening is always an inspiring showcase of the variety of volunteering which takes place across Midlothian. We were lucky to be joined by Sir Robert Clerk, Lord-Lieutenant of Midlothian and his wife Lady Faye, Depute Provost Margot Russell and of course Volunteer Midlothian's sponsors of the evening! 

In a statement from Volunteer Midlothian they said "The event would not be possible without the support of Newbattle Abbey College and the award sponsors EDF Energy, Midlothian Council Communities Team, Midlothian Council Lifelong Learning and Employability, Midlothian Health & Social Care Partnership, Police Scotland, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley and the Scottish Qualifications Authority. Thank you also to the SQA for printing our programmes for the evening. " 

2017 Award Winners

Outstanding New Volunteer Award

presented by Isabel Pattie, Midlothian Council Lifelong Learning and Employability

Winner: Francis Shields, Lothians Veterans' Centre

Befriender/Mentor of the Year Award

presented by Eibhlin McHugh, Midlothian Health & Social Care Partnership

Winner: Paula Smith, Community Links Befriending Project

Active Volunteering Award

presented by Andrew Moodie, EDF Energy

Winner: Ageing Well Volunteers

Service to the Community Award

presented by Stephen Bermingham, Midlothian Council Communities Team

Winner: Sheilagh Law, St David's Bradbury Day Centre

Health & Wellbeing Award

presented by Eibhlin McHugh, Midlothian Health & Social Care Partnership

Winner: Flora Michalopoulou, Home Link Family Support

(Flora's award was collected by Jane Ramage, Board Member and Rachel Almeida, Young Parents Support Service Coordinator - both from Home Link Family Support)

Long Service to Volunteering Award

presented by Atholl Sheriffs, The Rotary Club of Esk Valley

Winner: Fiona Milton, Highbank Day Centre

Volunteer Manager of the Year Award

presented by Jean Blair & Laura Gemmell, SQA

Winner: Keith Barbour, Volunteer Midlothian

Saltire Summit Awards

presented by Keiran Harvey, Saltire Ambassador ( The Youth Radio Network's CEO)  & Jean Blair, SQA

Winners: Callum Anderson, Megan Kay, Eilidh Selfridge, Jasmine Smales & Hannah Turbitt

Volunteer Team of the Year Award

presented by Sir Robert Clerk, Lord Lieutenant of Midlothian

Winner: Dalkeith Museum Volunteer Team

Volunteer of the Year Award

presented by Depute Provost Margot Russell

Winner: George Roy, Orchard Centre (Health in Mind)

Volunteer Friendly Awards

presented by Community Inspector Michelle Ritchie, Police Scotland

Winner: National Mining Museum Scotland

presented by Community Inspector John Dryden, Police Scotland

Winner: Rosewell Development Trust

Pictured below are all of our 2017 Award winners and sponsors.


CEO of The Youth Radio Network Keiran Harvey said: " The Volunteer Midlothian Awards Ceremony was an absolutely brilliant evening, and I was so happy to be able to present an award at this event. As a young person myself I was also on the judging panel for the Saltaire Summit Awards. I want to say a huge thank you to Volunteer Midlothian and their team as without them this event would not have been the success it is! I also want to take this opportunity to congratulate all the award winners and nominees on behalf of everyone here at The Youth Radio Network!" 

Keiran got some excellent photos on the evening check them out below! 


 © Credits to and all the people in the photographs and Voulenteer Midlothian's Photographer

Comments (0)

Log in to comment